Skip to main content

Learning digital marketing can be intimidating for new business owners who want to start marketing for their companies. 

One of the best ways to break into the world of digital marketing is to pick up on a few terms that you need to know. Whether you’re brand new to the marketing industry or want a quick refresher, these digital marketing terms are ones that you need to know. 

The digital marketing trends are constantly changing but knowing the correct terms will help you become a master of the field. 

Be sure to keep reading for our guide on the most important digital marketing terms that you need to know. 

Search Engine Optimization or SEO

One of the most valuable terms used in digital marketing is search engine optimization (SEO). SEO can help organically drive traffic to your website, which can help you generate more revenue. 

Including SEO in the content that you create makes it so that you can rank on search engines like Google. You’ll find that when you rank high on Google’s search results that more people will discover your webpage as well as your products. 


To go along with SEO, another popular marketing term you should know is keywords. Keywords benefit you when you’re trying to rank in search engines. 

You’ll want to be distinct when choosing keywords for your content and deciding which ones will help you rank. These keywords are going to be things that people typically search on Google. 

Keyword research is something that you can do to help you figure out which keywords are relevant to your topic and niche. 

Content Marketing

Content marketing is one of the standard digital marketing terms, but one you should get familiar with very fast. It can mean any type of content you create and put online in the digital world. 

Whether you create content for your blog, social media, or produce videos, this is all considered content marketing.

Content marketing doesn’t necessarily need to be an advertisement for your products or services. Sometimes you can create content to entertain your audience as well. 


Another branch of SEO is backlinks. Backlinks are links from outside domains that point to pages on your domain. Basically, linking back from their domain to yours.

Getting other domains that Google knows and trusts to include links to your content shows the Google algorithm that your content is trustworthy. Backlinks will help push your content high in the search results. 


Speaking of the algorithm, this is another brilliant digital marketing term to know. There are different algorithms everywhere you turn online, and learning them all will give you a headache, but taking them into account is necessary. 

What is an algorithm? It is a set of rules that each platform follows that push posts higher. Sometimes the algorithm—considering those rules—will favor certain posts, while sometimes it doesn’t. 

Email Marketing

You might think that email marketing is one of the basic digital marketing terms you don’t need to know, but it is still vital today. Email marketing can help you reach potential customers and keep up with clients that have already shopped with you. 

You should personalize each email that you send out to your customers. Make sure to send important information about your brand, products, services, and any updates that you might have. 

Landing Page

A landing page is one of the digital marketing terms to know when creating your website for your business. You’ll want to use landing pages to direct people once they click on the links throughout your website. 

Return on Investment or ROI

Another one of the terms used in digital marketing that you should know is return on investment or ROI. ROI means how much money you will be getting back when you invest your money in something. 

You will see this term in several different ways when marketing. For example, you might be wondering how much money you could make when investing in an ad campaign. Doing this would be your ROI. 

Cost-per-Click or CPC

Cost-per-click is a marketing term that applies to hosting an ad campaign. Your CPC is how much you owe whenever someone clicks on your ad.

These types of ads are fantastic because you won’t have to pay if your ad isn’t doing well. Yet, if your ad is getting lots of traffic and tons of clicks, then you want your CPC low, so your ROI is high. 

Cost-per-Thousand or CPM 

Like CPC, cost-per-thousand is the amount you would pay once you generate 1,000 impressions on an ad. It is up to you to decide which one you want to use as a marketer when deciding between CPC or CPM. 

Click-Through-Rate or CTR

Going along with the ad terms, the click-through rate is the number of people who click on your ad once they see it. You want to know your CTR to see how effective your ad is in the digital world. 

Call-to-Action or CTA

Your call-to-action is a standard digital marketing term that you will frequently see when creating content. Including a CTA lets your clients know precisely what you want them to do.

It could be to follow your social media, buy a particular product, or keep scrolling on your page. A call to action lets your audience know what they should do next after viewing your content. 


Return on ad spend (ROAS) measures the revenue earned for every dollar spent on advertising. Like return on investment (ROI), ROAS measures the ROI of money invested in digital advertising. 

How to calculate ROAS:

ROAS = Revenue attributable to ads / Cost of ads

For example, if you invest $1,000 into your ad campaign and generate $5,000 in revenue from those ads, your ROAS is 5.

Digital Marketing Terms You Need to Know

As you can see, there are tons of digital marketing terms you need to know to start learning about the industry. Once you have these down, then you’ll be a master of digital marketing in no time. 

Be sure to use this list of standard digital marketing terms for a quick reference. 

If you’re looking for help growing your business online, then look no further. You can request a discovery call with us today and see exactly how we can cater to your business.

Author John Keller

Cultivating proper SEO tactics along with building sites with excellent User Experience since 2003.

More posts by John Keller